Ireland 2015, Day 3: Giant’s Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede, Dark Hedges, Portrush

Waking very sick at 3 a.m. was not what I had in mind for my vacation. I’ll spare you the details, but nothing about it was fun or pleasant. Hoorah for a mom that packs prescription nausea meds.

Hoorah, too, for really nice B&B keepers. Denise at Causeway Smithy was great and I stayed in bed late. 

When we did head out at 10 a.m. the sun was bright and shinning. We were fortunate to have a full day of beautiful weather. Stop one was Giant’s Causeway — just a mile or two from our B&B and truly was stunning. We also checked out the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge (which I crossed!) and saw the Dark Hedges and Dunluce Castle. 

   

  

   
We checked in to the Adelphi Hotel in Portrush for the night. Such a nice hotel. The best part though was the staff, particularly Nicola, who could not have been more helpful. I started feeling poorly again after dinner and the hotel (which had some of the best guest service ever) and she even gave us advice on getting me in to see a local doctor. I went to the primary care center at Causeway Hospital and am very glad I got checked out. Thankful, too, for sweet travel companions who took great care of me. 

Leave a Reply

